Eating my way through NOLA (and Dallas too…)

The past week has been an absolute marathon of the best kind, which involved no running whatsoever.  My type of marathon is the eating type, and there has been no shortage of excellent meals in the last week.  Though New Orleans burned me out completely – I don’t think I could have handled one more second of smelling Bourbon St. – but the meals were certainly my favorite part.  My first night in town, my family and I went to dinner at a french-ish restaurant called R’evolution.  It was so good.  We started with crab beignets, and I had a goat cheese and cherry tomato ravioli-type dish.  My sister ordered lobster gnocchi, my mom got scallops, and my dad got duck, all of which were wonderfully delicious.  The next day for lunch, we went to a lovely pizza place called Dominca, and I ordered the prosciutto pizza, again very yummy. Dinner that night was at Ascension, and I had veal.  The following night, though, was definitely my favorite.  We went to GW Fins, and we all ordered a bunch of appetizers and one main dish, their famous “Scalibut”, which was a generous piece of fresh halibut with scallops baked onto the top, bedded over a lobster risotto.  It was unbelievable.  Easter brunch was at Antoine’s.  The food was okay, but the experience was worth it.  It is one of the most historical restaurants in the country, and all 14 dining rooms were beautiful.  Brunch concluded my meal journey in NOLA, but then I was on my way to spend my week eating throughout Dallas with my mom.  The week’s restaurants included, NOSH Euro Bistro, Dive, East Hampton, Victor Tango’s, Taverna, Toulouse, Little Katana, and Fireside Pies, Nick and Sam’s, and Saint Ann are still to come.  It has been such a great week; there is nothing I enjoy more than great food and even better company.  I will certainly be sad to say goodbye to my family, but in two weeks, I will be back home and ready to eat my way through Marin, SF and Napa/Sonoma. 

Standard

Leave a comment